Part 2: I Stayed At A Hotel Across The Street From a Mall and Whole Foods

Go here to read Part 1.

Josh Spilker

--

Parking lot I crossed by the 2nd-largest mall in America

He had a spinal cord injury. A really bad car accident.

Something about his vertebrae plucking at his spinal cord and he wasn’t sure how much he could walk again.

He was the store manager at WaWa’s; had spent his whole career there.

But then the injury. And his “gait” was bad, he said. So he was on disability.

And earlier this year, he went to Washington, D.C. with his daughters but had a difficult time getting around. He was using a cane, but was much slower than his 11 year-old stepdaughter.

“That’s when my older son texted me about this,” he said.

He pointed around the car wildly.

“Uber,” he said.

It made it so easy to get around, he exclaimed. And then I started driving, he said, and it’s great.

He was telling me this story even though I had hailed a Lyft.

He was telling me this story as we looped a different way by the Whole Foods and the mall. I could see it’s green sign lighting up. It was 9:45, Whole Foods was about to close.

--

--